The Cité de la céramique – Sèvres & Limoges

In January 2010, the Sèvres National Manufactory and the National Ceramics Museum, two services under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Culture and Communications, were combined into one public administrative establishment, managed from 2003 to 2014 by David Caméo, and from 27 May 2014 by Romane Sarfati.

In May 2012, the Adrien Dubouché National Museum in Limoges incorporated the public establishment Sèvres – Cité de la céramique and therefore became the Cité de la céramique – Sèvres & Limoges. It has been managed by Céline Paul since July 2012.
The Sèvres National Manufactory is the last production plant in Europe which combines the rationale of public service (transfer of knowledge, conservation of research collections, producing a heritage of forms and decorations, support for contemporary design through an invitation policy and artists in residence) with that of a production business in the arts sector (with all its commercial and economic challenges).
The Sèvres National Ceramics Museum has exceptional potential, thanks to the rich variety of its collections (over 55,000 pieces) which offer a unique, almost encyclopaedic panorama of the history of ceramic arts, making it a world-class museum for ceramics.
Together with the Adrien Dubouché National Museum in Limoges (and its 18,000 listed works), the new public establishment has therefore strengthened its ambitious project to become an international centre for ceramic arts, by mixing the synergies of the three establishments, respecting the missions of each, and contributing to the reputation and influence of ceramics. A scientific and heritage policy, plus a cultural development strategy have been drawn up and implemented for this new, expanded public establishment.

The establishment has a Board of Directors and an artistic, scientific and cultural Board.
The Board of Directors of the Cité de la céramique – Sèvres & Limoges is chaired by Franka Holtmann. It has 15 members.
The seats on the Cité de la céramique – Sèvres & Limoges Board of Directors are divided between the Chairman of the Board, four members by right, three local authority politicians, five qualified persons appointed for their skills and two personnel representatives from the establishment.

Members by right
The Secretary General of the Ministry of Culture and Communications
General Director of Heritage
General Director of Artistic Creation
The Prefect of the Île-de-France region
Politicians from the local authorities
The President of the Hauts-de-Seine General Council
The mayor of Sèvres
The mayor of Limoges

Qualified persons
Mr Nicolas Bos, Président and CEO of Van Cleef & Arpels
Mr Stéphane Distinguin, President of Fabernovel and President of Cap Digital
Mrs Isabelle Giafferi, Deputy General Director of Publicis EtNous
Mrs Catherine Mayenoche, Director of Cabinet of General Director of Caisse des dépôts

Personnel representatives
2 members